I’m a poor Blogger

It’s been weeks since I last posted… I know… I suck…

But it’s been a busy couple of weeks. Very busy in fact. Beanlet & I took a trip to San Diego to visit the fam. Jack’s currently back east visting his grandparents (and assorted other relatives). BroHam got a wakeup call and started rising “during the A.M.” as he calls it, or at least trying to.

But I’m learning a lot. About myself, about communications, relationships, people in my life, all of it. And my worldview and belief system has gotten a couple of broader strokes lately.

But all of that is still in processing.

Today, I’m going to talk about the resurgence of crappy music & music videos from my tween years. Can we all agree that there were a few years in the early-mid nineties that really should just be shipped out to sea? (C&C Music Factory, Color Me Badd) Or better yet, shot into space?

A couple of things have come to my attention recently that convince me that there are people in the world who disagree with me and believe that rather shipping the music out to sea or shooting it into space, rather that it should be “brought back” if you will.

First, there’s a new radio station in Seattle… GenX radio. For the most part, I absolutely love this station. It has no real genre rules. Only that the music be from the mid-late 80s to the early part of the 2000s. They play Guns ‘n Roses followed by Snoop Dogg followed by Wilson Phillips. And some Gin Blossoms. And some other really good music from when I was in high school that I had forgotten existed. Unfortunately, they also play some of the aforementioned crappy music. To their credit, the good stuff absolutely outweighs the bad. And even when the music is bad, it usually makes me laugh because I remember a situation when I heard that song or I can laugh that the song was ever popular. It’s high entertainment.

Then there’s example number 2. I was at the Mall last night. My (now) 16 year old BFF, Beanlet & I went to a Silent Dinner at the food court. Basically, BFF’s sign language teacher offers these dinners fo students to come practice using sign. And Beanlet loves hanging out with teenagers who can talk to her so it’s a win-win. But I was there last night and there are these TV monitors throughout the food court playing music videos. In fact, you can text your vote for the next one played to a special website & it will queue it up, like a jukebox. While there for less than two hours last night, I saw Ricky Martin, C&C Music Factory, assorted other atrocities from the early 90s and only 1 recent song. The only reason I was able to identify the 1 song as recent was because the video featured the cast of Jersey Shore. WRONG

Now I won’t launch into a diatribe about how fucked up and wrong it is that these kids from New Jersey are world famous for their ability to string cuss words together in interesting ways. It is fucked up and wrong, but that’s not my complaint today. (See South Park’s Jersey episode if you’re interested).

Today, I’m going to remark on the fact that these are songs and performers who have long since left the public eye (i.e. Ricky Martin, C&C Music Factory etc). Their music is NO LONGER COOL, or even relevant really. And the fact that it ever was makes me feel a little ashamed of the fact that I did in fact own a C&C Music Factory single —  WHEN I WAS 11 YEARS OLD!

Can the producers not simply let this music die? Why must everything that was once popular be “revived” 10-15 years later? There MUST be some kind of moral obligation to protect our children from the same music hell that we endured. Besides, they have their own sins to haunt them for years to come (Justin Bieber anyone? Jonas Brothers?) Of course, the record companies are probably just out to make money without spending any new money. They’ve got this old music no one wants in their vaults – if they bring it out again maybe some enterprising ad exec will buy the rights & make a crappy iTunes commercial out of it. Or something.

I have no idea how to stop the onslaught of crappy early 90s music. But something must be done. Or else I will soon have to explain to teens why anyone ever thought the Color Me Badd haircut & clothes were cool. And I’m not sure that’s even possible.

Thanks everyone for comments, subscriptions etc. I’ll be more diligent and post more often.

About Katya

Teetering on the Edge of Crazy but the view's pretty rad out here View all posts by Katya

2 responses to “I’m a poor Blogger

Leave a Reply

